Skip to main content

Welcome : Faculty of Agriculture


On behalf of the entire staff and students of the Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry, it is my honour and privilege to welcome you to the Website of the Faculty of Agriculture, University of Ibadan, Ibadan, Nigeria.

The Faculty of Agriculture took off in 1949 with the assemblage of staff with Mr. W. H. Baker as the first Professor and Dean. Nine others joined him during the 1951/52 session when academic activities started with only one student – Mr. Joseph Akinwolemiwa, who passed on in 2008. He graduated in June 1953 and was followed by 4, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 11, 7, 9 and 14 in 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962 and 1963 respectively. Today, the Faculty has over 1, 376 undergraduate students, 1, 276 postgraduate students and 249 members of the academic staff consisting of Professors (45), Readers (14), Senior Lecturers (32), Lecturers (37) and Assistant Lecturers (13). Out of this some staffs are on sabbatical leave home and abroad while some are serving governments.

The honours course in Agriculture was introduced in 1958/59, and the June 1960 students were the first graduates with the honours classification. From 1948 to 1963 the University awarded degrees of the University of London under a scheme of special relationship. However, in 1963 the University received its own charter and became autonomous as the University of Ibadan and started to award its own degrees.

In 1962, the one-Department Faculty was split into four Departments of Agriculture, Agricultural Chemistry and Soils, Agricultural Biology and Agricultural Organization. By 1966-67 the four Departments were reorganized and respectively renamed Agronomy, Animal Science, Agricultural Biology and Agricultural Economics and Extension. In 1995, Agricultural Biology was renamed Crop Protection and Environmental Biology to reflect the multi-disciplinary nature of the Department.

Read more